Food Waste In America

Americans discard 40% of the food supply every year, which basically means that we waste every other bite of food. The average American family of four ends up throwing away an equivalent of up to $2,275 annually in food.

Just a 15% reduction in losses in the US food supply would save enough to feed 25 million Americans annually. It would also lighten the burden on landfills, where food waste makes up the largest component of solid waste, according to the NRDC, a nonprofit environmental organization, and contributes over 25% to methane gas emissions.

Ironically, I went to a well known burger chain today for lunch and ordered some fries. The portion was SO large (you can only order one size) that I stuffed myself to my eyeballs as I felt guilty about what was left (see photo). I watched person after person throw away their similar leftovers as well which made me realize how much we take things for granted, and how we never give a second thought to how this impacts our environment. I kindly asked for another bag (unfortunately) to put the extra in and gave them to a local homeless guy.

What are things you do to be less wasteful?

2 responses to “Food Waste In America

  1. I agree completely. My staff does it too, on a daily basis. They either bring things in from home (which usually ends up in the fridge for days) or order in and there is always a buffet of leftovers in the trash. So, we have implemented a Feed The Boss program, where instead of throwing the food away, they just leave it for me. Even I don’t mind eating leftovers, plus some of the stuff they order or make at home is quite tasty, so I don’t even bother bringing in or ordering lunch anymore. I don’t understand what happened between the time I was raised to not waste food and nowadays…

Leave a Reply

